Pace Diagnostics

The Team Working to
Make it All Happen


Hiep-Hoa T. Nguyen

Hiep-Hoa T. Nguyen, PhD

Dr. Nguyen has acted as President and Chief Science Officer for a number of biotech companies that he founded or co-founded. Dr. Nguyen received his Bachelor of Science in Chemistry and Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering, both summa cum laude from the Georgia Institute of Technology. He received his PhD. in Chemistry/Biophysics from the California Institute of Technology (Caltech). He was a recipient of a National Institutes of Health Pre-doctoral Fellowship and a WR Grace Fellowship while at Caltech pursuing his PhD. He was an American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Fellow while at MIT. Dr. Nguyen is involved on a full time basis with the company.

Lorne Mattner

Lorne Mattner, MBA

Mr. Mattner is an executive with a track record that includes building start up companies, both domestically and in Asia, fund raising and two successful exits. He earned his MBA and BS from the University of Southern California.

Van Nguyen

Van Nguyen, PhD

Dr. Nguyen earned his PhD in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at University of California San Francisco in 2003. He was a Jane Coffin Childs postdoctoral fellow in the department of Microbial Pathogenesis at University of California San Francisco from 2003 to 2007. He was an integral team member at Peregrine Pharma from 2007 to 2018, developing assays that were used to test multiple FDA approved drugs for delivery in the value chain.

Abhishek Bhandari

Abhishek Bhandari

He is a part of a Research and Development team responsible for design and development of lateral flow tests for various infectious diseases. He has four years of experience in point-of-care lateral flow immunoassay development. He worked as senior research associate at TransMembrane Biosciences Inc. where he supported the research and development of lateral flow rapid diagnostics for infectious diseases like Tuberculosis and Leptospirosis. Abhishek received his M.S. in Biotechnology at West Virginia State University, WV.

Vana Abedi

Vana Abedi

Vana is involved in lateral flow test design and protein production process. He has participated in numerous research projects such as UC Irvine Beckman Laser Institute, UC Irvine Biomedical Department, UCLA Microbiology Department, and UCLA Brain Mapping Center. Vana was an honorary recipient of Summer Fellowship Research Grant for System Development in 2008, and graduated from University of California, Irvine with a B.S. in Biomedical Engineering.

Sanjay Jayachandran

Sanjay Jayachandran, PhD

Dr. Jayachandran received his PhD from UC Riverside and was a National Institutes of Health Postdoctoral Fellow at University of Southern California.

NMarianne M.T. Nguyen

Marianne M.T. Nguyen

Ms. Nguyen received her undergraduate and graduate training at Georgia Institute of Technology, UCI and UMass Amherst. She held senior leadership positions with Honeywell Safety Products, Ametek Aerospace, Tyco International, and ICI. She has over 20 years of leadership and industrial experiences in the areas of new product developments, operations and program management.

David Kane

David Kane, PhD

Dr. Kane received his MA in Chemistry from the University of Cambridge and his PhD. in Biophysics from the Max Planck Institute, and performed his post doctoral study at the University of Southern California.


Reynaldo Dietze

Prof. Reynaldo Dietze

Dr. Reynaldo Dietze is currently an Associate Professor of Medicine and Director of the Center for Infectious Diseases at the Federal University of Espírito Santo (UFES), Vitória, Brazil. Dr. Dietze was a former President of the Brazilian Society of Tropical Medicine.

Mark Nicol

Prof. Mark Nicol

Prof. Mark Nicol is currently is Head of the Division of Medical Microbiology at the University of Cape Town and holds a joint appointment with the National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS) of South Africa.

Lyudila Bazhenova

Prof. Lyudmila Bazhenova

Prof. Lyudmila Bezhenova is currently a Clinical Professor at UC San Diego, and Lung Cancer Unit Leader at Scripps Green Hospital. She is a board certified medical oncologist and hematologist with expertise in lung cancer.

Sunney Chan

Prof. Sunney I. Chan

Prof. Chan is the George Grant Hoag Professor of Biophysics, Emeritus at Caltech, and was Vice President (Emeritus) of Academia Sinica (Taiwan).

Davide Manissero

Prof. Davide Manissero, MD

Dr. Davide Manissero is currently a Senior Lecturer at the University College of London and a Senior Medical Director at SHIONOGI Ltd where he is supporting late phase development of a novel cephalosporin for multi-drug resistant gram negative bacteria and setting up a medical program in preparation for product launch. In the past, he held positions at Qiagen, the WHO, ECDC among others. He maintains a network of donors, funders and bilateral organization in the field of pharma and IVD product development and is embarked in a number of product development partnerships (PDPs). He has published over 70 peer-reviewed articles and conference abstracts on tuberculosis and he is regarded as an expert in the field. He is also an associate fellow at the WHO Collaborating Centre for TB, Tradate, Italy. He received his MD from Universita Cattolica del Sacro Cuore; MS in Tropical Medicine and International Health from London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, University of London; and Diploma in Paediatric Infectious Diseases, University of Oxford.